Explore IASTA
Print this page  Email this page  Bookmark this page

Professor Biswas Wins Highest Award given by American Association for Aerosol Research

Dr. Pratim Biswas was recently awarded the 2013 David Sinclair Award for sustained excellence in aerosol research and technology by an established scientist. He was recognized for having a lasting impact in aerosol science research. This award memorializes David Sinclair, one of aerosol science's greatest innovators known for his knowledge, ingenuity and energy. Sinclair distinguished himself as a pioneer in aerosol science through his work at Columbia University.

Prof Biswas is currently “The Lucy and Stanley Lopata Professor” at Washington University in St. Louis. He is also a member of Indian Aerosol Science & Technology Association.

IASTA Annual General Body Meeting

Annual General Body Meeting (AGBM) of the Indian Aerosol Science and Technology Association (IASTA) will be held on Wednesday, 12th December, 2012 at 1800 hrs at Apollo hall of Hotel Fortune Select exotica, Vashi, Navi Mumbai. President, IASTA will chair the meeting.

Follow the link for the agenda of the meeting. Resolutions or proposals, if any, should be sent to the Secretary, IASTA on or before 11th December, 2012.

International Aerosol Fellow Award

The IAF Award Committee invites members of the IARA member societies to nominate candidates for the forthcoming International Aerosol Fellow Award. The award will be conferred at the 31st AAAR conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota (October 8-12, 2012). The deadline for nominations is July 31, 2012.

International Aerosol Fellow Award is granted to recognize outstanding contributions to Aerosol Science and Technology through research, technical development, education and service. Nominations of candidates for the award are invited. The nominator must be a member of an IARA member society, but the nominee can be any individual, both inside and outside IARA member societies. At least three supporting letters must be included in the nomination. The nomination material has to be submitted to the Committee chair by 31 July 2012 in the form of a hard copy and an electronic version.

Dr. Y. S. Mayya, Head, RPAD, BARC Mumbai is a member of IAF award committee. Details of the nomination procedure can be found at: http://www.iasta.org.in/Docs/IAF2012.pdf

Questions concerning the award can be addressed to the chair of the IAF Award Committee:

Professor Ian Colbeck
School of Biological Sciences
University of Essex
Colchester CO4 3SQ, UK
Fax: + 44 1206 872592
Tel.: + 44 1206 872203
E-mail: colbi@essex.ac.uk

Online Submissions to Aerosol Science and Technology

Aerosol Science and Technology publishes the results of theoretical, numerical and experimental investigations into aerosol behavior, measurement, and effects. With 2007 Impact factor of 2.350, it ranks 4/107 in Engineering, Mechanical and 31/160 in Environmental Sciences. °

Papers published in AST are freely available to the world twelve months after they appear in print. All the volumes published since 1982 can be followed at Informaworld™ website.

Online submissions of the papers can be made to AST at http://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/ast. There is no page charge for publication, except for colored figures. There is no charge for the colored figures that are published only on-line.

This message has been brought up on the request of Peter McMurry, Editor-in-Chief, Aerosol Science and Technolgy. The editors of the journal also encourage the submission of critical reviews of recent research and historical reviews of important aerosol topics.

° 2008 Thomson Reuters, Journal Citation Reports ®

Asian Young Aerosol Scientist Award (AYASA) 2009

In order to promote aerosol research by young scientists in Asian countries, the Asian Aerosol Research Assembly (AARA) announces the "Asian Young Aerosol Scientist Award (AYASA)" for the year 2009.

Nominations corroborated by the letters of recommendation and supporting documents including the nominee's curriculum vita and three most significant research publications, must be received electronically no later than May 31, 2009 by the Award Committee.

Dr. Panuganti Devara
Chair, AYASA Committee
Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology (IITM)
Dr. Homi Bhabha Road, Pashan, Pune 411 008, India
Phone: +91-20-25904251
Fax: +91-20-25893825
E-Mail: devara@tropmet.res.in

For more details, follow the notification on the AARA website.

IASTA Executive Committee Election Results

The Executive Committee of IASTA is elected by way of polls once in three years. The elections were held in November 2007 and based on the results, a new executive committee has been formed. Dr. P. C. S. Devara has become the new President of IASTA while a few new members have been inducted into the current functionary. The detailed results of the elections can be found here.

IASTA constitutes awards

With a view to encourage and promote the outstanding work of the individuals in the field of aerosol research, IASTA has instituted two awards. These awards recognize the individuals under two categories namely the Indian Young Aerosol Scientist Award and the Best Paper in IASTA Conference Award. A member can nominate a fellow here.

Financial Aid for overseas travel from IASTA

IASTA partially supports the travel of members for attending the overseas aerosol conferences. A member can seek financial aid towards travel by applying to IASTA here. Apply early to allow a period of at least three months. The decision of the Executive Committee shall be final and binding.

IASTA 2004 at IIT Kanpur in Current Science

IASTA and IIT Kanpur together organized IASTA Meeting & International Conference on Aerosols, Clouds & Indian Monsoon during November, 2004 at Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur. A report on this appeared in News section of the journal Current Science. A copy can be accessed here.

© 2010 IASTA • All rights reserved
Best viewed with IE 6.0 at 1024 × 768 resolution
• 21440 site visits •
Website design and upkeep